top of page

AYO AKINSANYA : ARTIST SPOTLIGHT

We asked our entire team of artists about this project. Check out what Ayo Ankinsanya (DUNCAN/MACDUFF/WITCH) has to say about it.

What was your first Shakespeare play?

My first Shakespeare play was a scene study of Macbeth ironically.

What drew you to this production?

I was drawn to the idea of the cast being an all female cast. #yearofthewoman

Most importantly when I first read the version of production I read for the role of Macduff and I couldn’t get that character out of my heart. I was already committed to the role before I even audition for the part. I found Macduff to be bad ass warrior and I couldn’t shake off the energy I felt for this character.

Why are you excited about this production?

I can feel and see the passion in every person contributing to this fantastic play, it’s not just limited to the actresses and director. The producers, the stage managers and everyone involved genuinely wants to see the success of this production.

What other plays would like to do in this style?

Othello

What do you think will surprise people about this production?

Although it is an all female cast, I believe the audience wouldn’t pay too much particular attention to the fact and would actually see the story for what is — stripped of gender.

Why wouldn't you want anyone to miss M.Beth?

It possesses most elements that people look for in entertainment, drama, comedy, passion, betrayal, honor, courage, suspense and mystery.


bottom of page