top of page

ROBIN EPES : ARTIST SPOTLIGHT

We asked our entire team of artists about this project. Check out what Robin Epes (MACBETH) has to say about it.

What was your first Shakespeare play?

Henry IV Part I in 8th grade. I played Prince Hal, and at my 4’9” and size 8 shoe size with tankard in hand, I looked every bit a Hobbit! What drew you to this production?

“Meaty” male roles still outnumber “meaty” female roles. And the number of productions casting cross gender, gender neutral, or gender queer artists is still very low. In light of that, I am thrilled that the opportunity for an all female-identifying cast of Macbeth, which is chock full of rich characters arrived and I caught the train!

Why are you excited about this production?

Having played Lady M before, I am thrilled to play her counterpart Macbeth. It has been, and I am sure it will continue to be, a wonderful challenge to tackle this play through another characters eyes. What other plays would like to do in this style?

New or old, any play that challenges the traditional concepts of gender identification are important plays to be doing. What do you think will surprise people about this production?

Perhaps the audience will see the commentary on the very human processes hidden underneath the entertaining, exciting, and engaging, witches, prophecies, and ghosts this play offers. It is about the loss of faith in fellow humans, how easy it is to succumb to the power of suggestion, the allure of power, and even about those who can resist and stay true to their morals whatever the cost. It may have been written down hundreds of years ago, but I hope the audience can appreciate how relevant this story-line is today.

Why wouldn't you want anyone to miss M.Beth?

In a play that pivots on the Play for Power, I want people to see the Power of this incredible cast weave through this story-line!


bottom of page